Sports‎ > ‎

Vettel Wins Bahrain Grand Prix

posted 21 Apr 2013, 11:43 by Mpelembe Admin   [ updated 21 Apr 2013, 11:44 ]

Defending world champion Sebastian Vettel wins in the desert from Lotus pair of Kimi Raikkonen and Romain Grosjean

 BAHRAIN INTERNATIONAL CIRCUIT, BAHRAIN (APRIL 21, 2013)  Formula One world champion Sebastian Vettel won the Bahrain Grand Prix for the second year in a row for Red Bull on Sunday to extend his overall lead to 10 points after four races.

In a controversial race that went off without major drama, untroubled by anti-government protests and reported clashes elsewhere in the tiny Gulf kingdom, the German beat Lotus's Kimi Raikkonen by 9.1 seconds.

The win, with Bahrain's Crown Prince Salman al-Khalifa watching, was Vettel's second of the season and 28th of his career.

"It was a faultless, seamless race from start to finish," said Vettel.

"I knew it was crucial straight away after the start to get into the lead if I can and go from there and look after the tyres. The pace was phenomenal, the car was very quick. It just seemed to get better and better towards the end. A beautiful race where you could really push every single lap and we took good care of the tyres so overall very happy

France's Romain Grosjean finished third for Lotus, his first podium of the season, to complete the same top three as last year.

"I started the race, with a strategy a bit different to everybody, started on the hard tyres thinking that we would go longer on the first stint but I had some debris on the car and I had to pit to remove it.The race was a bit harder, we had to have some good fights on track, but this is why we are racing and what we enjoy, so very pleased to be here."

Britain's Paul Di Resta equalled his career-best finish, after leading for three laps, with a fine fourth place for Force India after losing third to Grosjean with six laps to go.

Vettel now has 77 points to 67 for Raikkonen, who chalked up his 21st successive scoring finish and is three races away from equalling the record set by the now-retired Michael Schumacher.

"Yesterday wasn't ideal," said the Finn. "So we planned to... I wanted already on Friday to do two-stops asit felt ok. Today it worked well and we gained a lot of places. I didn't have a very strong first lap or second lap, so I lost a few places. After that the car started to come to me. I could start pushing more and more and in the end it was OK."

There was bitter disappointment for Mercedes's Nico Rosberg, who started on pole position but finished ninth, and for Ferrari's Fernando Alonso who could have expected to be on the podium but for a mechanical failure.

The Spaniard, now fourth overall with 47 points, finished eighth after having to make an unscheduled pitstop on lap seven - a lap after coming in for his regular stop - with his rear-wing DRS system stuck open.

Britain's Lewis Hamilton moved up to third in the standings, on 50 points, after taking fifth place for Mercedes in a thrilling battle with Red Bull's Mark Webber over the closing laps of the Australian's 200th race.

Mexican Sergio Perez was sixth, also passing Webber after a wheel-to-wheel duel with McLaren team mate Jenson Button that saw the newcomer nudge the rear of the 2009 champion's car.

Button urged the team to 'calm him down' but Perez continued to push with Grosjean looming in his mirrors.

Webber finished seventh while Button was 10th, denying Venezuelan PastorMaldonado a first point of the season for Williams.

Rosberg led from the start but held off Vettel for only two laps, with Alonso swiftly moving up to second before his nightmare in the pits.


Motor racing-Formula One Bahrain Grand Prix result

April 21 (Infostrada Sports) - Result from the Formula One Bahrain Grand Prix atBahrain International Circuit on Sunday

1. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) RedBull - Renault 1:36:00.498

2. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Lotus - Renault +00:09.111

3. Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus - Renault 00:19.507

4. Paul Di Resta (Britain) Force India - Mercedes 00:21.727

5. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 00:35.230

6. Sergio Perez (Mexico) McLaren 00:35.998

7. Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull - Renault 00:37.244

8. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 00:37.574

9. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 00:41.126

10. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 00:46.631

11. Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Williams - Renault 01:06.450

12. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Sauber - Ferrari 01:12.933

13. Adrian Sutil (Germany) Force India - Mercedes 01:16.719

14. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams - Renault 01:21.511

15. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 01:26.364

16. Daniel Ricciardo (AustraliaToro Rosso - Ferrari 1 lap

17. Charles Pic (France) Caterham - Renault 1 lap

18. Esteban Gutierrez (Mexico) Sauber - Ferrari 1 lap

19. Jules Bianchi (France) Marussia - Cosworth 1 lap

20. Max Chilton (Britain) Marussia - Cosworth 1 lap

21. Giedo van der Garde (Netherlands) Caterham - Renault 2 laps

r. Jean-Eric Vergne (FranceToro Rosso - Ferrari 41 laps

(rank: r = retired, nc = not classified)

Fastest Lap: Sebastian Vettel,1:36.961, lap 55.


1. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Red Bull 77

2. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Lotus 67

3. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 50

4. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 47

5. Mark Webber (Australia) Red Bull 32

6. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 30

7. Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus 26

8. Paul Di Resta (Britain) Force India 20

9. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 14

10. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 13

11. Sergio Perez (Mexico) McLaren 10

12. Adrian Sutil (Germany) Force India 6

13. Daniel Ricciardo (AustraliaToro Rosso 6

14. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Sauber 5

15. Jean-Eric Vergne (FranceToro Rosso 1

16. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams 0

17. Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Williams 0

18. Esteban Gutierrez (Mexico) Sauber 0

19. Jules Bianchi (France) Marussia 0

20. Charles Pic (France) Caterham 0

21. Giedo van der Garde (Netherlands) Caterham 0

22. Max Chilton (Britain) Marussia 0

Constructors Points

1. RedBull - Renault 109

2. Lotus - Renault 93

3. Ferrari 77

4. Mercedes 64

5. Force India - Mercedes 26

6. McLaren - Mercedes 23

7. Toro Rosso - Ferrari 7

8. Sauber - Ferrari 5

9. Williams - Renault 0

10. Marussia - Cosworth 0

11. Caterham - Renault 0