Sports‎ > ‎

Ronaldo Wins 2013 Ballon D'Or

posted 13 Jan 2014, 12:42 by Mpelembe Admin   [ updated 13 Jan 2014, 12:43 ]

Cristiano Ronaldo is named the world's best footballer for 2013, the second time that he was won the award.

 ZURICHSWITZERLAND (JANUARY 13, 2014) (ASO/FIFA) -  Portugal and Real Madrid forward Cristiano Ronaldo was named the world's best footballer for the second time in Zurich, Switzerland on Monday (January 13), preventing his great rival Lionel Messi from winning the award for a fifth year in a row.

The gadget spec URL could not be found
Argentine Messi, hampered by uncharacteristic injury problems at Barcelona late in the year, and Frenchman Franck Ribery of Bayern Munich were the other candidates for the prize, officially known as the FIFA Ballon d'Or.

Ronaldo secured the title with 1,365 points, ahead of Lionel Messi with 1,205 points and Franck Ribery with 1,127 points.

The votes are held by the captains and coaches of the 209 national teams, although FIFA said that only 184 of them took part in the poll, plus 173 selected media representatives.

Ronaldo was also voted FIFA Player of the Year in 2008, before Messi began a run of four successive titles.

In 2010 and 2011, the award was fused with the Ballon D'Or award previously handed out byFrance Football magazine.

Although Ronaldo did not win any major titles last season, he has been unable to stop scoring goals.

The 28-year-old has 20 La Liga goals this season for Real Madrid and netted a record nine times in the Champions League group stage.

The high point of his year, however, came with Portugal when he scored a stunning hat-trick and almost single-handedly beat Sweden 3-1 in the second leg of their World Cup playoff tie to send his country through to the finals.

The team of the year featured Manuel Neuer in goal, Philipp LahmSergio RamosThiago Silvaand Dani Alves in defence, midfielders Andres IniestaXavi and Ribery with Ronaldo, Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Messi in attack.

Jupp Heynckes, now retired, was named coach of the year for the first time after his Bayern Munich team won an unprecedented Champions League, Bundesliga and German Cup treble.

Germany goalkeeper Nadine Angerer was named the women's Player of the Year.

Brazilian Pele was given a special "Prix d'Honneur" for his lifetime achievements.