Sports‎ > ‎

McLaren's Hamilton wins Hungarian Grand Prix

posted 29 Jul 2012, 10:05 by Mpelembe Admin   [ updated 29 Jul 2012, 10:06 ]

Lewis Hamilton dominates to win the Hungarian Grand Prix for a revitalised McLaren team as Lotus take second and third but Fernando Alonso extends his championship lead with fifth place.

Lewis Hamilton dominated the Hungarian Grand Prix on Sunday (July 29) as he led from start to finish to claim his second win of a season that had threatened to fizzle out.
Lotus pair Kimi Raikkonen and Romain Grosjean were second and third behind the McLaren driver while world championship leader Fernando Alonso was fifth, enough for the Spaniard to increase his lead at the top of the standings going into the one month break.

Double world champion Sebastian Vettel of Germany finished fourth for Red Bull, maintaining his record of having never won a race in July.

Briton Hamilton, fastest in both practice sessions on Friday as well as qualifying, started on pole and only briefly relinquished his lead for two pit stops as he give McLaren their fifth win in the last six races at the Hungaroring.

The 2008 world champion was threatened by France's Grosjean early in the race and had Finn Raikkonen on his tail for the last few laps but fought off both Lotus drivers.

Ferrari driver Alonso, who has 164 points in the standings, moved 40 ahead of Webber, who was eighth in his Red Bull for the second race in a row.

Vettel, third overall, closed the gap on Australian Webber to two points and Hamilton leap-frogged Raikkonon into fourth place, although he remains 47 points behind Alonso.

"I'm looking forward to the continuation in the championship, there's a long, long way to go and we've got a lot of work to do but this weekend's shown that we can compete. We've obviously got these guys (Lotus) who are very close to us but we're going to give it everything we can," said Hamilton.

Raikkonen expressed his satisfaction with second place but added: "At least we are up there all the time and we're putting ourselves in a good position for the championship and trying for wins, so I'll take second place but we're not happy until we win."

Grosjean told the crowd: "It was a very good job from the team to recover from a difficult last race. I'm very happy to be here, it was a very tough race, very close and I was enjoying myself a lot in the car, trying to fight for the win is something special, so I hope next time we fight we get this win."


1. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 1 hour 41 mins 05.503 sec

2. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Lotus - Renault +00:01.032

3. Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus - Renault 00:10.518

4. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) RedBull - Renault 00:11.614

5. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 00:26.653

6. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 00:30.243

7. Bruno Senna (Brazil) Williams - Renault 00:33.899

8. Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull - Renault 00:34.458

9. Felipe Massa (Brazil)Ferrari 00:38.350

10. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 00:51.234

11. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Force India - Mercedes 00:57.283

12. Paul Di Resta (Britain) Force India - Mercedes 01:02.887

13. Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Williams - Renault 01:03.606

14. Sergio Perez (Mexico)Sauber - Ferrari 01:04.494

15. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Toro Rosso - Ferrari 1 lap

16. Jean-Eric Vergne (France)Toro Rosso - Ferrari 1 lap

17r. Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) Caterham - Renault 1 lap

18r. Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) Sauber - Ferrari 2 laps

19. Vitaly Petrov (Russia) Caterham - Renault 2 laps

20. Charles Pic (France) Marussia - Cosworth 2 laps

21. Timo Glock (Germany) Marussia - Cosworth 3 laps

22. Pedro de la Rosa (Spain) HRT - Cosworth 3 laps


Narain Karthikeyan (India) HRT - Cosworth 8 laps

Michael Schumacher (Germany) Mercedes 11 laps

Championship standings:


1. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 164

2. Mark Webber (Australia) Red Bull 124

3. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Red Bull 122

4. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 117

5. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Renault 116

6. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes GP 77

7. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 76

8. Romain Grosjean (France) Renault 76

9. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Sauber 47

10. Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) Sauber 33


1. RedBull - Renault 246

2. McLaren - Mercedes 193

3. Lotus - Renault 192

4. Ferrari 189

5. Mercedes 106