Sports‎ > ‎

Inter Milan striker Samuel Eto'o named African footballer of the year

posted 20 Dec 2010, 15:07 by Sam Mbale   [ updated 20 Dec 2010, 15:10 ]

Inter Milan striker Samuel Eto'o is named 2010 African Footballer of the Year following a trophy-laden year with the Italian giants.

MILAN, ITALY (JULY 28, 2009) REUTERS - Cameroon captain Samuel Eto'o on Monday (December 20) spoke of his joy after being named African Footballer of the Year for a record fourth time, beating Ivory Coast's Didier Drogba and Ghana's Asamoah Gyan to the award.

Eto'o told a news conference that winning the award was the best end to the year. He said,

"I won the UEFA Cup and the Club World Cup and finally this award is the best at the end of 2010."

Eto'o who joined Inter in July 2009, helped his team win the Champions League, Serie A title, Italian Cup and Club World Cup during a trophy-laden 2010.

However, the striker admitted his frustration at not winning any further titles with Cameroon, adding,

"Yes of course for my national team it was not that much, but for my personal career it is ok," he told a news conference following his country's early elimination from the inaugural African World Cup in South Africa.

Despite that disappointed, the 29-year-old's record fourth triumph follows three previous wins between 2003 and 2005.

The African Footballer of the Year is voted for by the coaches and captains of Africa's 53 national teams.

History of winners of the African Footballer of the Year award:

1970: Salif Keita (St Etienne, France, and Mali)

1971: Ibrahim Sunday (Asante Kotoko and Ghana)

1972: Cherif Souleymane (Hafia and Guinea)

1973: Tshimen Bwanga (TP Mazembe Englebert and Zaire)

1974: Paul Moukila (CARA Brazzaville and Congo)

1975: Ahmed Faras (Mohammedia and Morocco)

1976: Roger Milla (Canon Yaounde and Cameroon)

1977: Tarak Dhiab (Esperance and Tunisia)

1978: Karim Abdoul Razak (Asante Kotoko and Ghana)

1979: Thomas Nkono (Canon Yaounde and Cameroon)

1980: Jean Manga Onguene (Canon Yaounde and Cameroon)

1981: Lakhdar Belloumi (GCR Mascara and Algeria)

1982: Thomas Nkono (Espanyol, Spain, and Cameroon)

1983: Mahmoud Al Khatib (Al Ahli and Egypt)

1984: Theophile Abega (Toulouse, France, and Cameroon)

1985: Mohamed Timoumi (Royal Armed Forces and Morocco)

1986: Badou Ezaki (Real Mallorca, Spain, and Morocco)

1987: Rabah Madjer (FC Porto, Portugal, and Algeria)

1988: Kalusha Bwalya (Cercle Bruges, Belgium, and Zambia)

1989: George Weah (Monaco, France, and Liberia)

1990: Roger Milla (St Denis, Reunion, and Cameroon)

1991: Abedi Pele Ayew (Olympique Marseille, France, and


1992: Abedi Pele Ayew (Olympique Marseille, France, and


1993: Abedi Pele Ayew (Olympique Lyonnaise, France, and


1994: George Weah (Paris St Germain, France, and Liberia)

and Emmanuel Amunike (Sporting Lisbon, Portugal, and Nigeria)

1995: George Weah (AC Milan, Italy, and Liberia)

1996: Nwankwo Kanu (Inter Milan, Italy, and Nigeria)

1997: Victor Ikpeba (Monaco, France, and Nigeria)

1998: Mustapha Hadji (Deportivo Coruna, Spain, and Morocco)

1999: Nwankwo Kanu (Arsenal, England, and Nigeria)

2000: Patrick Mboma (Parma, Italy, and Cameroon)

2001: El Hadji Diouf (Rennes, France, and Senegal)

2002: El Hadji Diouf (Liverpool, England, and Senegal)

2003: Samuel Eto'o (Real Mallorca, Spain, and Cameroon)

2004: Samuel Eto'o (Barcelona, Spain, and Cameroon)

2005: Samuel Eto'o (Barcelona, Spain, and Cameroon)

2006: Didier Drogba (Chelsea, England, and Ivory Coast)

2007: Frederic Kanoute (Sevilla, Spain, and Mali)

2008: Emmanuel Adebayor (Arsenal, England, and Togo)

2009: Didier Drogba (Chelsea, England, and Ivory Coast)

2010: Samuel Eto'o (Inter Milan, Italy and Cameroon)