Sports‎ > ‎

Hamilton ends Vettel's run of wins with F1 victory in China

posted 17 Apr 2011, 06:42 by Mpelembe   [ updated 17 Apr 2011, 06:45 ]

McLaren's Hamilton wins from world champion Vettel with Mark Webber running through the field to take third place.

Fresh tyres were the key to an exciting and eventful Chinese Grand Prix on Sunday (April 17) as Lewis Hamilton's McLaren passed leader Sebastian Vettel four laps from 
the end to win the race.

Vettel held on, with degraded tyres, to finish second while his team mate Mark Webber, who had started 18th, came storming through on fresh tyres to third place.

Fourth was Hamilton's McLaren team mate Jenson Button and fifth Nico Rosberg in his Mercedes GP. Felipe Massa was sixth ahead of his Ferrari team mate Fernando Alonso. Michael Schumacher was eighth.

Hamilton's victory, his first win since Belgium in August last year, denies Formula One world champion Sebastian Vettel a fifth win in a row.

Vettel started from pole position but was passed by both Jenson Button and Hamilton before the first corner.

Button held his lead but then threw it away in his first pitstop when he mistook the Red Bull garage for his own and pulled into Vettel's space. The Red Bull mechanics waved him on to his own pit, but his mistake momentarily held both Button and Vettel up.

Vettel however exited to the track first, demoting Button for his mistake.

Germany's Nico Rosberg also enjoyed a moment in the limelight, leading for Mercedes, but his hopes of a first career win after five seasons in Formula One faded as his team urged him to save both his brakes and his fuel.

Grip from fresh tyres, the KERS boost system and the adjustable rear wing innovation produced exciting overtaking manoeuvres up and down the field as cars seized places down the long straight of the Shanghai track.

Webber had suffered badly from a mistake in qualifying, only taking part in one of three sessions. This paid dividends on Sunday however as he had unused sets of tyres to use whenever he liked during the race, while other drivers had to nurse tyres which became up to four seconds a lap slower when they reached the end of their life. Webber joked after the race that it might be a good idea to miss qualifying completely and so have a variety of tyres available.

(Provisional race results from the Chinese Formula One Grand Prix in Shanghai on Sunday

1. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 1:36:58.226

2. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Red Bull +00:05.198

3. Mark Webber (Australia) Red Bull 00:07.555

4. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 00:10.000

5. Nico Rosberg (Germany)Mercedes 00:13.448

6. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 00:15.840

7. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 00:30.622

8. Michael Schumacher (Germany) Mercedes 00:31.026

9. Vitaly Petrov (Russia)Renault00:57.404

10. Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) Sauber 01:03.273

11. Paul Di Resta (Britain) Force India 01:08.757

12. Nick Heidfeld (Germany) Renault 01:12.739

13. Rubens Barrichello (Brazil) Williams 01:30.189

14. Sebastien Buemi (Switzerland) Toro Rosso 01:30.671

15. Adrian Sutil (Germany) Force India 1 lap

16. Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) Lotus 1 lap

17. Sergio Perez (Mexico)Sauber 1 lap

18. Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Williams 1 lap

19. Jarno Trulli (Italy) Lotus 1 lap

20. Jerome d'Ambrosio (Belgium) Virgin 2 laps

21. Timo Glock (Germany) Virgin 2 laps

22. Vitantonio Liuzzi (Italy) HRT 2 laps

23. Narain Karthikeyan (India)HRT 2 laps

r. Jaime Alguersuari (Spain) Toro Rosso 47 laps

(rank: r = retired, nc = not classified)

Fastest Lap: Mark Webber,1:38.993, lap 42.

Provisional driver and constructor standings after Sunday's Chinese Formula One Grand Prix in Shanghai

Drivers Points

1. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Red Bull 68

2. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 47

3. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 38

4. Mark Webber (Australia) Red Bull 37

5. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 26

6. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 24

7. Vitaly Petrov (Russia) Renault 17

8. Nick Heidfeld (Germany) Renault 15

9. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes GP 10

10. Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) Sauber 7

11. Michael Schumacher (Germany) Mercedes GP 6

12. Sebastien Buemi (Switzerland) Toro Rosso 4

13. Adrian Sutil (Germany) Force India 2

14. Paul Di Resta (Britain) Force India 2

15. Jaime Alguersuari (Spain) Toro Rosso 0

16. Jarno Trulli (Italy) Lotus 0

17. Rubens Barrichello (Brazil) Williams 0

18. Jerome d'Ambrosio (Belgium) Virgin 0

19. Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) Lotus 0

20. Timo Glock (Germany) Virgin 0

21. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Sauber 0

22. Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Williams 0

23. Vitantonio Liuzzi (Italy) HRT 0

24. Narain Karthikeyan (India) HRT 0

Constructors Points

1. Red Bull 105

2. McLaren 85

3. Ferrari 50

4. Renault 32

5. Mercedes 16

6. Sauber 7

7. Force India 4

8. Toro Rosso 4

9. Williams 0

10. Virgin 0

11. HRT 0

12. Lotus 0