Sports‎ > ‎

English FA Launch Commemorative Stamps

posted 8 May 2013, 15:29 by Mpelembe Admin   [ updated 8 May 2013, 15:30 ]

FA celebrates 150th anniversary with set of stamps celebrating eleven of the best players to have graced English top flight

 LONDON, ENGLAND, UK (MAY 8, 2013) (REUTERS) -  As part of the celebrations to mark the English FA's 150th anniversary, eleven of the best players to have graced the country's top flight will feature on a set of postage stamps.

Drawn by Andrew Kinsman, the striking images feature some of the sport's most famous names who, together, form a formidable line up.

England's World Cup winners Bobby MooreBobby Charlton, Gordon Banks andJimmy Greaves, as well as John BarnesKevin Keegan and Bryan Robson are included, while Scotland provide Denis Law and Dave MackayWales are represented by John Charles, and Northern Ireland by George Best.

Speaking to Reuters Television at a media day at Wembley on Wednesday (May 8), Kinsman said he wanted to create iconic pictures.

"Normally I'm quite a realistic painter and I have been told sometimes photo realistic in some paintings, but for this, as it was an illustration, I didn't want to go too realistic. I an almost stylised representation of these players to give the character of the players without trying to make them look like a photograph."

Law added that it was an honour to be included.

"It really is an honour of the highest that I am one of eleven players to be on the Royal Mail stamp," he said.

"Because when you think of probably at least 50 to 60 players who could have been on that through the years there has been some fantastic players, and I would think it would be very difficult to pick eleven players to be on the stamp so if I am one of them I am extremely happy and extremely lucky, yeah."